Al Najasat

Cleanliness is of utmost importance in performing ibadah in Islam. According to the fiqh of Imam al Shafi’i, there are two kinds of impurity that needs to be clean from, namely al-najasat and al-hadath.

The definition of najasat ( filth?) is anything dirty which prevents the validity of salat.

The category of najasat as outlined by the book al-Fiqh al-Manhaji is as follows:

  1. Liquor and anything which is intoxicating.
  2. Dogs and pigs ( and their offspring )
  3. Dead body except the dead body of humans, fish and grasshoppers.
  4. Blood
  5. Feces and urine.
  6. Any part of an animal separated when it was still alive except the feathers and wool or hair from animals that are halal to be eaten.
  7. Milk of all animals that are non halal to be eaten such as donkey’s milk and etc.
4 Comments

Filed under Blogroll

4 responses to “Al Najasat

  1. Ryan

    Assalamu alaykum,

    I have read that vomit is najis. Does it fall into one of these categories?

    JazakumAllah khayr

    • @Ryan:

      Wa ‘alaykumus Salam : What you have said is true brother. Vomit is najis acording to the madhhab of Imam al Shafi’i except that it is from the mouth. WaLlahu a’lam.

  2. sihana

    Assalamu Alaikkum. I had to go 1 of my friend\’s home who is non Muslim. I noticed that a dog licked her hand. she washed her hand and came. after a while, she touched my dress. I don\’t know whether her hand was wet or not. I checked my dress and it was not wet as my knowledge. is my dress pure ior not? and I sat on a chair there. even before sitting, my dress was little wet. I am confused whether my dress became najis ( because she is so close with the dog. when I was there, dog didn’t lick the chair. it’s only a confusion) when I face such situation and wash the clothe 7 times, my family says that I’m having waswas and think too much. please explain me what should I do as per the situation.
    e great if you response me

    • @sihana: wa alaikumus salam

      The Holy Prophet p.b.uh had adviced to leave what is doubtful and practise what is not doubtful. Since your dress wasn”t wet and you didn’t see the dog licking the chair so your dress is pure. Wallahu a’lam

Leave a Reply

